6 Types of Kriyas & Their Significance to Health

Kriya Yoga

Our human body is the most beautiful and the most complicated thing ever created by the God. The external cleaning of the body is necessary, and we can do it effortlessly, so to keep microbes away. But what about the purification of the organs which lies under the sheets of the skin that can’t be taken out, cleaned and placed back in their original positions.

Thanks to the Kriyas that help us to clean our organs internally as well. Our human body is composed of 3 essential elements called Tridoshas. These are namely: Vata (a mechanical functional constituent of the body), Pitta (a chemical component of the body) and Kapha (a material component of the body). Any unevenness among these 3 constituents will be an open invitation to the diseases.

There are 6 major Yogic Kriyas which help to achieve overall purification of the body. These are:

1. Kapalbhati Kriya


The term Kapalbhati is derived from the Sanskrit, where Kapal means “skull” and Bhati means “to shine”. It is an intensive breathing technique where you breathe in and breathe out vigorously. You can perform this as many times as you can in a minute. Kapalbhati helps to relax facial muscles and nerves, activates the brain cells, cures respiratory disorders, quite beneficial for the patients who are suffering from sinusitis, very effectual for increasing lungs capacity, prevent ageing process, and most importantly it refreshes and calms your mind.

2. Neti Kriya

Neti Kriya

The Neti Kriya is a way of cleaning the passage of nostrils, thus helping you to remain disease-free and most importantly you to breathe well. Neti kriya is useful in headaches, improves memory and concentration, helps to fight against head colds, sinusitis, migraine, sore throat, tension and inflammations of the nasal membrane. It is capable of curing ease hay fever and pollen allergies.This Kriya helps you to remain stress-free and controls anger too.

3. Dhauti Kriya

Dhauti means “to clean”. Dhauti kriya is a way of cleansing the intestinal tract to the stomach by inducing vomiting. This Kriya should be practised early in the morning as you wake up. There are four other variants of Dhauti Kriya: these are, Antar Dhauti, Danta Dhauti, Hrid Dhauti and, Moola Shodhana. It not only cleans the stomach but also helps in relieving a sense of nausea, nervousness, cold, cough and asthma.

Dhauti Kriya

4. Nauli Kriya

Nauli Kriya is a technique of churning up of the abdomen area.It should be practised early morning on an empty stomach. It improves the overall digestive system, helps to overcome constipation and diabetes, increases liveliness, prevents sexual deficiency and helps to maintain the abdomen area strong. Thus, it is excellent for the overall health. People suffering from High Blood Pressure and Hernia should not practice it.

Nauli Kriya

5. Trataka Kriya

Trataka means ” Stare Steadily.” It is a technique of concentrating the mind and controlling it from its random propensity. While performing this process, you have to continuously stare at the flame of the candle and then simply close your eyes. Repeat it 3 times. It is a process that purifies the eye muscles and strengthens them, improves memory, postural problems, and bedwetting and also helps to develop institutions. People who suffer from hallucinations should not perform Trataka Kriya.

Trataka Kriya

6. Vasti Kriya

This kriya helps in bowel cleaning. The term Vasti or Basti is used to define urinary bladder. It is an ayurvedic method of giving medicinal fluids through anal, urinary or vaginal route. It is of 2 types namely: Jal Vasti and Pawana Vasti.

Add Comment