10 Beliefs of Sikhism Religion

Sikhism was founded in the Punjab by Guru Nanak in the 15th Century CE and is a monotheistic religion. Sikhs think religion should be practiced by living in the world and dealing with life’s everyday problems. The fundamental beliefs of Sikhism are articulated in the sacred scripture Guru Granth Sahib. Check out the ten most significant beliefs of Sikhism Religion here.

Sikhism Religion

1. GOD is ONE

The most basic Sikh belief is that GOD IS ONE and it is represented in the phrase ‘IK ONKAR.’ They believe in single and formless God who can only be known through meditation.

2. The Five K’s

The Five K’s are the articles of faith that Sikhs wear as it was preferred by their final Guru in human form, Guru Gobind Singh (10th Guru). Most of the Sikhs wear some of these articles, but the only Sikhs who have been through Amrit ceremony of initiation wear all the articles. These articles include:

(a) Kesh:  Uncut long hair. Almost all the Sikhs keep their hair long for their whole life, and it is protected by a Dastar (or turban). The dastar is mostly worn by men and by some women too to cover their long hair. But most of the women kept their hair long and uncovered and only cover them while entering a Gurdwara.

(b) Kangha: Kangha means Comb. It is a wooden comb kept by many Sikhs to keep their long hair combed the whole day.

(c) Kara: Kara is the most used article. Kara is an iron bangle to constantly remind the Sikhs to do God’s work. It is the symbol of the unbreakable bond that humans have with God.

(d) Kachera: It is a specific undergarment for men and women and is fastened by a fitted string. It is to remind Sikhs that they should control their sexual desire.

(e) Kirpan: It is a short dagger worn by Sikhs. The word kirpan is derived from the word “mercy” and “bless.” The Kirpan should be used only for defense.

3. Reincarnation

Sikhs believe in the repetitive cycle of birth, life, and death, Karma, and reincarnation (every being is reborn after death). This belief of Sikhism is similar to that of Hinduism.

4. NO Caste System

Sikhs have originated from Hinduism. This is so because they rejected the Caste System of Hinduism. They believe that everyone is equal in God’s eyes and they shouldn’t be differentiated on any basis.

5. Code of Conduct

Sikhs have the code of conduct stating:

A Sikh must not take hemp, opium, liquor, tobacco, or any intoxicant.”

Hence, smoking and drinking are considered as an action against God in Sikhism.


6. Sikh names

Since Sikhs don’t believe in caste system, all the males share one second-name, Singh (meaning Lion) and all the females share Kaur (meaning Princess).

7. Three principles

Three main principles that are known to guide Sikhs are:

(a) One should always be absorbed in meditation and prayers.

(b) One should make an honest income by honorable methods.

(c) One should always share with other people selflessly.

8. Avoid Five Sins

Sikhs believe that the five sins are the biggest hindrance in one’s connection with God. These five Sins include – Pride, Lust, Greed, Anger, and Attachment. Instead, a Sikh needs to develop positive human qualities which they believe leads the soul closer to God. These five qualities include Truth, Compassion, Contentment, Humble, and Love.

9. Four Commandments

Sikhs follow four commandments that prohibit one from four behaviors:

(a) One shouldn’t dishonor the creator’s intention by cutting their hair.

(b) One shouldn’t harm their body by intake of tobacco, alcohol or any other deadly toxicants.

(c) One shouldn’t consume sacrificial meat.

(d) One shouldn’t commit the crime of adultery.

10. Five prayers

Sikhs believe that one should recite their prayers five times, thrice in the morning, once in the evening and once at night. They believe that this practice keeps an individual closer to the God.


  1. Rinku Das December 15, 2017
  2. Aronniewestcott February 8, 2021

Add Comment